Home > Daily Blogging Themes, Mithian, Tombstone Tuesday > Tombstone Tuesday: And I With Him Shall Shine

Tombstone Tuesday: And I With Him Shall Shine

I was at Mithian a couple of days ago, so took some more photos of the tombstones there. 

It was a dull, dreary day and as seems to be usual there, it was very overgrown everywhere, just going wild really.  The Church is all closed so I suppose no-one much bothers about keeping the churchyard tidy.

I saw this tombstone from the back of it first.  It was all surrounded by the overgrown bushes, trees, general greenery, but sat so alone.  Just seemed sad to me.

Back view of tombstone

 

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, Cornwall February 2011 – copyright 2011
To get to the front of the tombstone we had to battle our way through the shrubs and overgrown stuff and I took the photo of the front as best as I could with branches completely in the way!!
Front view of the tombstone

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, Cornwall February 2011 - copyright 2011

Transcript of the Monumental Inscription
In
Memory of
Mary Ann
the beloved wife of
Samuel Truran
who departed this Life  October 4th 1862,
Aged 34 Years
“What says the happy dead?
She bids me bear my load
And with silent steps proceed
And follow her to God
My life’s a shade, my days
Apace to death decline
But Christ my dust shall raise
And I with Him shall shine
Sweet truth to me: I shall arise
And with His eyes my Saviour sees
(this line difficult to read but ends with) keep
(Can’t read this line, goes into the overgrowth of greenery)

I think it interesting that this has some sort of oblong bit added into it near the top.  Can’t tell if it was an error that was corrected (badly) at the time of making the tombstone or if something happened to the tombstone over time and this was done to fix it.  But it does not show through to the back of the gravestone at all. 

I also find it interesting that because the tombstone is so plain, it is very clear to see the tiny writing right at the top on the left, middle and right of it. On the left it says Pearce; the middle says Lemon St. and the right says Truro.

Next week for Tombstone Tuesday I will show the tombstone of Mary Ann’s husband Samuel Truran.

  1. March 3, 2011 at 1:25 am

    This is a very interesting tombstone – plain yet there is something special about it.
    Regards,
    Theresa (Tangled Trees)

    • April 6, 2011 at 12:04 am

      Hallo Theresa, Thanks so much for popping over to my blog and for your comment. Please accept my apologies for the long delay in moderating your post and answering it! I think this is the plainest tombstone I have seen. Especially when you see the rather more ornate tombstone of her husband!

      Kind regards,

      Christine (rootsresearcherrabbit)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

