Home > Daily Blogging Themes, Tombstone Tuesday > Tombstone Tuesday: A Devoted Husband and Kind Father

Tombstone Tuesday: A Devoted Husband and Kind Father

This is my first Tombstone Tuesday post since I was able to get back here after being so long away from the blog because of awful internet connection problems.

Once again this is a photo taken at Mithian, Cornwall.  This is not one of my or my other half’s ancestors so other than the details on the tombstone, I cannot add more details about this person or his family.

original photograph taken by me at Mithian, Cornwall - copyright 2011

I wonder why this man died at such a young age and wonder how many children he had.  I will see if I can find out more about him and his family and then make an update here.

Transcript of Monumental Inscription

In

Loving memory of

John Bennetts

who

Died June 15th

1888

Aged 34 years

A Devoted Husband and Kind Father

 

As yet I haven’t seen any other graves for anyone with the surname Bennetts so wonder if his family moved away after he died?  Then again, it could be the family are buried near him but no gravestone survives.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

