Home > Mithian > St. Peter’s Church, Mithian – So sad to see this happening!

St. Peter’s Church, Mithian – So sad to see this happening!

Yesterday my partner Paul and I visited the churchyard at St. Peter’s Church, Mithian in Cornwall.  This is where Paul’s Mother and Grandparents are laid to rest.  We knew the church was closed as there were problems to the roof we believe and just maybe other problems to the building as well. 

We’ve missed seeing how lovely the churchyard looks when strewn completely in the Spring with Primroses everywhere, but it still had a beauty of its own for when we arrived this time the churchyard was covered in Bluebells and white Garlic flowers.  It kind of made up for the fact the whole place was really overgrown and neglected!

As you will see from the photos I add to this post though, it is very sad to see that it has come to this!!

This noticeboard should really be showing the Church name and other details and the message on the notice pinned to the board has now been weathered away – it’s at the entrance to the churchyard.

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, Cornwall 31st May 2010 copyright 2010

 And then you get to the entrance gate:

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

You will see through the gate, that there is a notice on the Church door:

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

Okay, let’s just have a stroll around and see what’s happening in the churchyard:

Almost disappeared!!

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

The wild flowers bring some beauty to a very sad, neglected churchyard:

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

This is the main entrance to St. Peter’s Church for all the happy times and sad times and now to see it like this – and with a discarded Rememberance Day wreath too!

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

Danger Keep Out; Roped off; Fenced off:

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                                                    

original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

                                                                                                                                              

And what if a descendant wants to lay flowers here?

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

Well, at least it is possible to take a break, have a seat … and wonder what will become of the church and churchyard!

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

                                                                                         There are some wild flowers spreading about in the churchyard – this will help create a haven for all sorts of creepie crawlie insects and wildlife – so that’s good!                                                   

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

And of course, this day and age, we couldn’t really expect anything else than someone showing some disrespect in a churchyard!!!

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian, 31st May 2010 - copyright 2010

We plan on visiting this churchyard on a regular basis, particularly to see how it progresses with regard to what will happen to the church and therefore what will happen to the churchyard!!  I will try and investigate what the plans are and hopefully there aren’t any to flatten the churchyard!!  It’s a bit of a worry.

Categories: Mithian Tags: , ,
  1. jol
    July 29, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    Hi, visited St. Peter’s today. At least there doesn’t seem to be any further damage to the building. Little doubt from experience it is almost unsavable unless a builder comes and changes the building completely. Iwill post photos at http://www.lazylikesunday.net/ when I get chance. My interest is in St Agnes. I have no local connection with this church. But it is sad
    jol

    • December 22, 2011 at 5:01 pm

      Hallo Jol,

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I am so very sorry to have left it so long before replying. Family commitments have prevented me adding to the blog for quite a while so I have just found your comment.

      I think it is very sad that this church is just left, virtually abandoned apart from those of us that have family at rest there. I am really hoping they won’t pull it down and turn it into a commercial site of offices, car parks and so on!! Not sure what they would do with all the graves if they did that.

      I haven’t had a chance yet to visit your website but will do. It will be interesting to see your photos.

      Thanks again for your visit.

      Kind regards,

      Christine (rootsresearcherrabbit)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

