Home > General, Gwennap > Gwennap Churchyard

Gwennap Churchyard

Today, as it was a beautifully sunny day, my other half Paul and I went to Gwennap Churchyard to search for some of his ancestors lying at rest there.

By the time we got there it had clouded over and dark rainclouds were forming!!  It was looking so nice there with all the Spring flowers dotted about all over the place but it turned out to be a much larger churchyard than I had realised!!

Original photograph taken by me today 16 April 2011 - copyright 2011

 

We are going to have to come back several times to search for Paul’s ancestors as it is such a large churchyard.  While there, I decided that it would be nice to add this to the churchyard at Mithian, Cornwall and the churchyard at Lower Winchendon, Buckinghamshire that I am the Graveyard Rabbit for.

Many of the tombstones are very well preserved, some have very interesting designs, quite different from the majority of plainer ones at Mithian and Lower Winchendon and I noticed that it was very easy to read the inscriptions of most of those I looked at today.

Original photograph taken by me today 16 April 2011 - copyright 2011

 

This is the sign at the entrance to the churchyard.  I think it must be the most attractive sign for a church that I have seen in a long time!!  Most are usually past their best, with peeling paint or warped, tatty looking wood.

I will start adding some of the tombstones in this coming week, and of course, when we find those of Paul’s ancestors, if they still survive, then those will be shown here as well as at my genealogy blog So That’s Where I Get It From.

  1. April 16, 2011 at 9:44 pm | #1

    Absolutely beautiful Spring day!

    • April 17, 2011 at 11:05 pm | #2

      Hallo Susan, Thanks so much for visiting my blog and for your comment. Yes, it was a really lovely day, but changed by the time we got there. I was hoping for some nice sunny pics to go with the Spring flowers, but that didn’t quite happen!! It was lovely just to see that beautiful Cherry Blossom tree in full bloom.

      Kind regards,

      Christine (rootsresearcher)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

