Home > Daily Blogging Themes, Mithian, Tombstone Tuesday > Tombstone Tuesday: Peace, Perfect Peace

Tombstone Tuesday: Peace, Perfect Peace

 

This is another tombstone of members of the Pooley family, following on from last week, at St. Peter’s, Mithian, Cornwall.

Original photograph taken by me at Mithian - copyright 2011

 

The Inscription is as follows:

In Loving Memory

of

William Burrow Pooley

who died at

Barton, Penstraze

July 28th 1923

Aged 69 years

_____

Peace, Perfect Peace

_____

Also of

Elizabeth Pooley

Beloved wife of the above

who died Sept 13th 1929

Aged 72 years

_____

 

As far as I know this family is not connected to me or my man Paul’s family, although he has family at rest in this churchyard.

  1. August 16, 2011 at 7:42 am

    I have somehow stumbled onto your Mithian grave photos. My ancestors are buried there and I have been trying for years to see if there are any related photos of that Family. The surname is Thomas. James, Mary Jane, Elizabeth and more! Would appreciate hearing from you.

    • December 22, 2011 at 5:14 pm

      Hallo Gary,

      Thanks for visiting my blog and for your comments. I apologise for the very long delay in replying to you – I see you wrote here in August!! Family commitments have meant that I have been unable to get to my blogs or add posts so feel quite bad that you have waited so long for an answer!!

      Because of the above, we haven’t had any chance to get back to visit the church at Mithian, but do intend to as soon as possible. When we go I will certainly look out for any of your ancestors and take photos and notes if I come across any and will then pass those onto you.

      Thanks again for your visit and I hope I am forgiven for the terrible delay in getting back to you?

      Kind regards,

      Christine (rootsresearcherrabbit)

  2. August 16, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Many of my ancestors were of the POOLEY Family. How do I make contact with you?

    • December 22, 2011 at 5:16 pm

      Hallo again Gary,

      I have just answered your earlier comment and will look out for your ancestors’ graves when we next visit Mithian. We will also see if there are more graves for the Pooley family.

      You can contact me at readc13_99@excite.co.uk and if you could put Re: Graveyard Rabbit in the subject line that would be helpful.

      Kind regards,

      Christine (rootsresearcherrabbit)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

